IUBS Commission

The IUBS Commission for the Nomenclature of Cultivated Plants is a commission of the International Union of Biological Sciences, a non-governmental, non-profit organization established in 1919 and with its secretariat based in Paris, France. Its objectives are to promote the study of biological sciences, to initiate, facilitate, and co-ordinate research and other scientific activities that require international cooperation, to ensure the discussion and dissemination of the results of cooperative research, to promote the organization of international conferences, and to assist in the publication of their reports.

IUBS presently has a membership of 43 Ordinary Members, adhering through Academies of Science, National Research Councils, national science associations or similar organizations, and 80 Scientific Members, all of which are international scientific associations, societies or commissions in the various biological disciplines.

This Commission is made up of appointed members representing the interests of agriculture, forestry and horticulture and is charged with drawing up and maintaining the International Code of Nomenclature for Cultivated Plants. The Editorial Committee for the Code is drawn from those attending the Commission meetings which are generally held during and following an International Symposium on the Taxonomy of Cultivated Plants.

Mr Christopher D. Brickell (England, UK)

Secretary to whom all general correspondence other than Code matters should be addressed
Drs Wilbert L. A. Hetterscheid
Department of Plant Sciences
Generaal Foulkesweg 37
6703 BL Wageningen
The Netherlands
Phone: (+31) 3174 83178
Fax: (+31) 317 484917
E-mail: wilbert.hetterscheid@wur.nl

Other Commission Members (October 2007)
Dr. Bjorn Alden (Sweden)
Dr Bernard R. Baum (Canada)
Dr. Crinan Alexander (Scotland, UK)
Dr. John David (England, UK)
Dr. Kees van Ettekoven (Netherlands)
Dr. Hugh Glen (South Africa)
Dr. Niall Green (Scotland, UK)
Dr. Hiroyuki Iketini (Japan)
Dr. Jin Xiaobai (China)
Dr Alan C. Leslie (England, UK)
Dr. Valery Malecot (France)
Prof. John McNeill (Scotland, UK)
Professor Qibai Xiang (China)
Dr. Roger Spencer (Australia)
Mr Freek Vrugtman (Canada)
Dr. John Wiersema (USA)


International Society for Horticultural Science - www.ishs.org
(c) ISHS. All rights reserved.