Persimmon industry in Australia and New Zealand

T. Khurshid
In Australia persimmons are produced in Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia and Western Australia. In 2020, 2,772 t of persimmon were produced with a value of $11 M. ‘Fuyu’ and ‘Jiro’ are the two main non-astringent varieties grown in Australia. The harvest season starts in March and finishes in June. Australia exports 7% of its total persimmon production to Asian countries. In New Zealand, persimmons are produced in Gisborne, Auckland, Waikato and Bay of Plenty. In 2020, total persimmon production was 2,000 t and the export value was $10 M. ‘Fuyu’ is the main non-astringent variety grown in New Zealand. The harvest season runs from late April to July. New Zealand exports most of its persimmon to Asian countries and Australia, and small volumes to North America. A detailed report will be presented regarding the Australian and New Zealand persimmon industries.
Khurshid, T. (2022). Persimmon industry in Australia and New Zealand. Acta Hortic. 1338, 21-24
DOI: 10.17660/ActaHortic.2022.1338.5
production, harvest season, export, non-astringent, ‘Fuyu’, ‘Jiro’

Acta Horticulturae